Utah's Laws
 
Home PageSafety TipsContact UsSite MapEventsSponsorsNewslettersChaptersPrivacyTechniciansSearchAbout Us

The Utah Legislature has enacted safety laws in these risk areas:

 

 

Also, here is another site with an overview of the Utah laws:

Governors Highway Safety Organization (Utah Highway Safety Laws)

 

 

Risk Area

Target population

Law/Regulation

Summary

School zone

Elementary aged children

41-6a-604

A person may not operate a vehicle at speeds greater than 20 miles per hour in a reduced speed school zones; a first offense shall be calculated according to the following schedule:
 Vehicle Speed               Minimum Fine
 21 - 29 MPH $ 50
               30 - 39 MPH                    $ 125
               40 MPH and greater        $ 275

Operation of motor vehicle near bicycle prohibited.

All Ages

41-6a-706.5

An operator of a motor vehicle may not knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly operate a motor vehicle within three feet of a moving bicycle, unless the operator of the motor vehicle operates the motor vehicle within a reasonable and safe distance of the bicycle.

Bike/Helmet

All ages

41-6a-804
41-6a-1102
41-6a-1106
41-6a-1702

These laws and regulations clearly define when, where and how to ride a bicycle and devices propelled by human power, however there are no laws logged on safety or safety devices used while riding.

Firearms

Under 18

76-10-509 guns/minors

A minor under 18 years of age may not possess a dangerous weapon unless he: has the permission of his parent or guardian to have the weapon; or is accompanied by a parent or guardian while he has the weapon in his possession.  A responsible adult shall accompany any minor under 14 years of age in possession of a dangerous weapon. Any person who violates this section is guilty of:  a class B misdemeanor (serve a term not > 6 months) upon the first offense; and a class A misdemeanor (serve a term not > 1 year) for each subsequent offense.   (76-10-509.9) A person may not sell any firearm to a minor under 18 years of age unless the minor is accompanied by a parent or guardian.

Seat Belt

All Ages

41-6a-1803

Drivers of a motor vehicle operated on a Utah highway shall wear a properly adjusted and fastened safety belt and must provide for the protection of each person younger than five years of age by using a child restraint device to restrain each person in the manner prescribed by the manufacturer of the device.  The Driver can be fined $45 for child restraint or safety belt violation for occupants younger than 16; fined $10 for violation by occupants under 18; offender fined $45 for safety belt violation if 16 and older

CPS (child restraints)

0-4

41-6a-1803

Drivers must provide for the protection of each person younger than five years of age by using a child restraint device to restrain each person in the manner prescribed by the manufacturer of the device; and must provide for the protection of each person five years of age up to 16 years of age by using an appropriate child restraint device to restrain each person in the manner prescribed by the manufacturer of the device or by securing, or causing to be secured, a properly adjusted and fastened safety belt on each person.  See above fines for offences.

Pedestrian safety

All ages

41-6a-1001; thru
41-6a-1003

When traffic-control signals are not in place or not in operation, the operator of a vehicle shall yield the right-of-way, slowing down or stopping if necessary to yield, to a pedestrian crossing the roadway within a crosswalk when the pedestrian is upon the half of the roadway upon which the vehicle is traveling, or when the pedestrian is approaching so closely from the opposite half of the roadway as to be in danger. The operator of a vehicle approaching a school crosswalk shall come to a complete stop at the school crosswalk

Motorized vehicle headgear

Under 18

41-6a-1505 motorized vehicle

A person under the age of 18 may not operate or ride on a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle on a highway unless the person is wearing protective headgear which complies with specifications related to protective headgear for motorcycles (49 C.F.R. 571.218) and protective headgear for bicycles, motor assisted scooters, and personal motorized mobility (49 C.F.R. 1203).

Motor Assisted Scooters

15 and under

41-6a-1115

A person under 15 years of age may not operate a motor assisted scooter unless the person is under the direct supervision of their parent or guardian.
A person under eight-years of age may not operate a motor assisted scooter on any public property, highway, path, or sidewalk
A person may not operate a motor assisted scooter:
-In a public parking structure
-On public property posted as an area prohibiting skateboards
-On a highway consisting of a total of four or more lanes designated for regular motor vehicle traffic
-On a highway with a posted speed limit greater than 25 miles per hour
-While carrying more persons at one time than the number for which it is designed
-That has been structurally or mechanically altered from the original manufacturer’s design
-An owner may not authorize or knowingly permit a person to operate a motor assisted scooter in violation of this section.
-Violations may result in a class C misdemeanor.

Smoke Alarms

All Ages         

Residential Code Section 907.2.10 through 907.2.10.2

Smoke alarms shall be installed in the following locations: in each sleeping room, outside each separate sleeping area in the immediate vicinity of the bedrooms, on each additional story of the dwelling, including basements but not including crawl spaces and uninhabitable attics.  When more than one alarm is to be installed, they must be interconnected in such a manner that the action of one alarm will set off all alarms.  Listed single- and multiple-station smoke alarms complying with U.L. 217 shall be installed in accordance with the provision of this code and the household fire-warning equipment provision of NFPA 72.

CO Alarms

All Ages         

Residential Code Section 907.2.10.2 through 907.10.3

Carbon Monoxide alarms shall be installed on each habitable level of a dwelling unit equipped with fuel burning appliances.  All carbon monoxide detectors shall be listed and comply with UL 2034 and shall be installed in accordance with provisions of this code and NFPA 720. When more than one alarm is to be installed, they must be interconnected in such a manner that the action of one alarm will set off all alarms. 

Playgrounds and Recreational Facilities

All Ages

11-2-1
Utah Admin. R. 430-60

Local authorities may designate and acquire property for playgrounds and recreational facilities. The governing body of any city, town, school district, special district or county may designate and set apart for use playgrounds, athletic fields, gymnastics, swimming pools, camps, indoor recreation centers, television transmission and relay facilities, or other recreational facilities, any lands, buildings or personal property owned by such cities, towns, counties, special districts or school districts that may be suitable for playground and recreational use; and may be authorized and provided by law for the acquisition of lands or buildings for public purposes to acquire lands, buildings, and personal property therein for such use.  Local authorities may equip, maintain, operate and supervise the same, employing leaders, recreation directors, supervisors and other employees as it sees necessary. Such attainment of lands, buildings and personal property and the equipping, maintaining, operating and supervision will be used for public, governmental, and municipal purposes. Licensing for child-care centers require that the protective surfacing must comply with CPSC guidelines and ASTM standards. The administrative rules setting forth standards for child care center licensing (Utah Admin. R. 430-60) requires that the protective surfacing in childcare center playgrounds must comply with U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission and ASTM guidelines. The rules also require a fall zone of six feet surrounding all playground equipment.

Boating Safety for Youth to Operate Personal Watercraft

12-15 years

73-18-1.2

A person who is at least 12 years of age or older but under 16 years of age may operate a personal watercraft if s/he:
-Is under the direct supervision of a person who is at least 18 years of age
-“direct supervision” means oversight at a distance within which visual contact is maintained
-Completes a boating safety course approved by the boating division
-Has in his/her possession a boating safety certificate issued by the boating safety course provider
A person who is at least 16 years of age but under 18 years of age may operate a personal watercraft, if the person:
-Completes a boating safety course approved by the division
-Has in his/her possession a boating safety certificate issued by the boating safety course provider

PFD (recreational boating)

12 and under

73-18-8

Each person on board must have one personal flotation device.
Each flotation device must be:
-In serviceable condition
-Legally marked with U.S. Coast Guard approval number
-Be appropriate size for the person who is wearing it
For vessels 16 feet or more in length, there must also be on board one Type IV throwable personal flotation device, which is approved for this use by the U.S. Coast Guard. Each vessel must display navigation lights when the vessel is on the waters between sunset and sunrise. Each vessel must have fire-extinguishing equipment on board. A person may not operate or give permission for the operation of a vessel, which is not properly equipped as outlined above.
  Offenses may result in a maximum $100 fine.

PFD (Personal Watercraft)

All ages

73-18-8

Children of all ages must wear a Coast Guard type I, II, III or V PFD when operating or riding a PWC. Offenses may result in a maximum $100 fine.

 

 

top of page

.  

 

Home Page | Safety Tips | Contact Us | Site Map | Upcoming Events | Sponsors | Newsletters | Chapters | Privacy Policy | CPS Technicians | Search | About Us